About Us

Our Mission

The Autism Society, Newfoundland Labrador (ASNL) is a provincial charitable organization dedicated to promoting the development of individual, lifelong, and community-based supports and services for people with autism spectrum disorder (ASD), their families, and caregivers.

Our Vision

A province where people with ASD and their families are respected, and where they receive services and supports based on their individualized differences, needs and preferences.


Elaine Dobbin Centre for Autism

Avalon Regional Office & Provincial Headquarters

Scott Crocker
Chief Executive Officer
ext 221

Cathy Drake
Administrative Assistant
ext 221

Tess Hemeon
Chief Operating Officer (Advocacy & Communications)
ext 226

Sarah White
Manager, Programs & Services
ext 225

Alex Collins
Manager, Finance and Property
ext 234

Jennifer Brown
Coordinator, Fundraising & Events
ext 227

Josie Naterer
Senior Fundraising Consultant
ext 227

Christopher Dedde
Coordinator, Outreach & Library Resources
ext 223

Jillian Lahey
Program Assistant
ext 228

Sarah Hardiman
Program Assistant
ext 228

Megan Marshall
Coordinator, Transitions
ext 233

Ann MacDougall
Coordinator, Employment Works
ext 231

Lisa Lovell
Facilator, Employment Works
ext 237

Sarah O’Grady
Coordinator, Career Services
ext 232

Aimee Coles
Community Inclusion Coordinator
ext 232

Jeff Ronan
Gardener – Good Roots Gardening
ext 229

Adam Chafe
Coordinator, Property & Facilities
ext 229

Jimmy Everard
Grounds Assistant

William Feltham
Site Maintenance Assistant

Brenda Williams
Chef/Manager Pantry Cafe and Catering
ext 224
or direct line: 709-722- 8200

Colin Power
Kitchen Assistant

Eastern Regional Office (Clarenville)

Treshana Gosse
Regional Assistant Manager

South-Central Regional Office (Grand Falls-Windsor)

Jeannette Coates 
Regional Assistant Manager

Western Regional Office (Corner Brook)

Amy Parsons 
Regional Assistant Manager

Board of Directors

The ASNL board of directors consists of 14 members in the following structure;

  • 10 Members at Large
  • 1 Representative for the Eastern Region Seat
  • 1 Representative for the Western Region Seat
  • 1 Representative for the South and Central Region Seat
  • 1 Representative for the Self Advocate Seat

Currently, a new board is elected each year at the annual general meeting, but former or exiting board members are welcome to run again.

Board of Directors for 2018-2019

Anthony Jackman – President (Year 3 of 3, Term 1)
Civil Engineer by profession, father to son on the spectrum.

Carolyn Rideout – Vice-President (Year 3 of 3, Term 1)
Speech-Language Pathologist operating a private practice.

Paolo Mascarin– Treasurer (Year 1 of 3, Term 1)
Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA), father to son on the spectrum.

Shawna Matthews – Secretary (Year 3 of 3, Term 1)
Academic Advisor (M. Ed., B.A. Psychology), mother to son on the spectrum.

Edward Byrne –Eastern Regional Rep (Year 3 of 3, Term 1)
Post-secondary Educator (IT), father of son on the spectrum.

Angela Decker – At Large (Year 3 of 3, Term 2)
Grandmother to grandson on the spectrum.

Karen Flynn – South Central Region Rep (Year 2 of 3, Term 1)
Physiotherapist, mother of son on the spectrum.

Trudy Goold – Self-Advocate (Year 2 of 3, Term 1)
Writer, autistic advocate.

Colin Hodder – At Large (Year 3 of 3, Term 1)
Child Management Specialist with Eastern Health (B.Sc. Psychology), father to son on the spectrum.

Mark LaCosta – Western Region Rep (Year 2 of 3, Term 2)
Father to son on the spectrum.

Dr. Kimberly Maich – At Large (Year 2 of 3, Term 1)
Associate Professor, Special Education (Master’s Degree in ABA and Board Certified Behaviour Analyst), mother to son on the spectrum.

Patrick Martin – At Large (Year 3 of 3, Term 1)
Marketing and technical professional, father of son on the spectrum.

Neala Quigley – At Large (Year 2 of 3, Term 1)
Community Engagement professional, mother of son on the spectrum.

Shannon O’Dea – At Large (Year 1 of 3, Term 1)
Behaviour Management Specialist, Eastern Health (Masters in Counselling Psychology, currently completing Doctorate in Clinical Psychology.)

Honorary Board Member(s)
Elaine Dobbin

If you would like to contact ASNL’s Board of Directors, please e-mail Scott Crocker, Chief Executive Officer, at scrocker@autism.nf.net

Where We Are

Located in St. John’s, the hub of provincial operations.
Autism Society Newfoundland Labrador

Call us at 709-722-2803 or email info@autism.nf.net
Avalon Region Office
70 Clinch Crescent
St. Johns, NL A5A 1K2

Located in Clarenville, supports communities as far west as Glovertown, as far east as Normans Cove, all of the Clarenville area and the Burin and Bonavista Peninsulas.

Call us at 709-466-7177 or e mail eastern@autism.nf.net
Autism Society Newfoundland Labrador
Eastern Region Office
105 Manitoba Drive
Clarenville, NL A5A 1K2

Located in Grand Falls- Windsor, this office offers support from Gambo to Baie Verte Peninsula , and the South Coast of the Province.

Call us at 709-489-4190 or e mail southcentral@autism.nf.net
Autism Society Newfoundland Labrador
South Central Region Office
21 Carmelite Road, PO Box 133
Grand Falls-Windsor, NL A2A 2J4

Located in Corner Brook , supporting west of Springdale, the Northern Penninsula, and south to Port aux Basques.

Call us at 709-637-7450 or e mail western@autism.nf.net 
Autism Society Newfoundland Labrador
Western Region Office
79 Broadway
Corner Brook, NL, A2H 4E1